The Watch List

The Movie List: I decided that after multiple people asking what I thought about a movie, and the response often being “I haven’t watched it; it’s on the list“, I would actually make a list, and as I watch each one, I will write a little blurb about it.

Some of these are movies that have been critically acclaimed and have gained my curiosity, some are movies that I should have seen a long time ago, and some are just movies that have been recommended to me by friends and family.

Gone Girl

I’m not going to say much about this one, but I will say that it turned out to be a lot more intense than I originally thought it would be, and I really enjoyed watching it.

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Like many others, I have become fond of Wes Anderson’s stunning aesthetic and sharp dialogue (there is just brilliance in the timing and pauses), so I really liked this one, but I did find it long.

Birdman

This movie was pretty awesome, but not as impactful as I thought it would be. However,I probably had really high expectations due to the constant “Birdman is so good!” that have been coming at me. Having said that, Loved the continuous shots, loved the score, and the acting was great.

Still Alice

I read this book years ago, and I found it to be very eye-opening about what people with Alzheimer’s go through, and what their families and friends go through as well. I didn’t really like that they changed Alice’s area of expertise from psychology to linguistics, because I felt some irony was lost (being an expert on the brain and memory and no longer being able to use hers to it’s full capacity). They also changed her work location from Harvard(?) to Columbia, but I didn’t find that change to effect the story.

As Above, So Below

Cake

Boyhood

I finally watched this movie when it came out on netflix. It is most definitely a character-driven film rather than a plot-driven one, and it is very cool to see the actors age and the characters change based on their experiences. It wasn’t as mind-blowing as I was made to believe by the calibre that people were talking about it, and to be brutally honest, the 12 year span kind of “made” the movie, but it’s enough of a (what’s a nicer word for gimmick?) device that it works.

The Theory of Everything

The Lego Movie

There Will Be Blood

Aliens

Ravenous

Cemetary Man

Reefer Madness

The Stalker

The Shawshank Redemption

American History X

Leave a Reply

