This Winter Has Been Cold

I’m not just saying that to be poetic or metaphorical (Okay, maybe a little), but it actually has been crazy cold, especially this February.

Now I know what you’re thinking, or at least, I’m going to presume to. “Really? The weather? That’s what you’re choosing to write about?”

And to that I say,  “Why yes, internet user, I am starting off this piece by talking about the weather because I haven’t written in a while and it’s 3:30 AM and I feel the need, the need to write something for someone to read (YES! I made it rhyme).

There may be some heavy editing to come after I’m finished with this, since it’s mostly stream of consciousness, but I have this strange need to keep you updated. I still haven’t figured out who “you” is, so it will have to just be a universal “you”.

Valentine’s just passed. Not usually worth mentioning but I found myself being very happy and surprised by the the level of sweet I received from my SO; beautiful flowers (very tropical looking so that was neat) and a love letter. The letter especially was out of character but I loved it, because I am into the written word (can’t you tell?). I made him some cheesecake brownies, and gave a print out valentine with Sirius Black on it that read: “Siriusly in Love with you right now”, because I am me, and that is right up my ally. We went to a movie too, which I picked, (No, it wasn’t 50 Shades; how dare you) it was “What We Do in the Shadows”, which we both really enjoyed.

As for the day-to-day, the job hunt continues (sometimes) and there is a general sense of lethargy that goes along with having no real purpose in my day to day life. I’ve tried to be creative, but that doesn’t really improve anything in the long term, so on we must go. I think I’ve finally gotten over the whole “I went to University so I shouldn’t have to work the service industry/retail” thing because a job is a job sometimes, and we all need to make money, and we can’t expect to always love our jobs, let alone love our jobs and make good money. I think I’ve always had that expectation though, and it is hard to let go of that, even if it’s only for a little while.

What else is new: I started watching Vikings, and really what got me interested is the very Game of Thrones-esque aesthetic as far as the griminess, hardness, middle-agy and epic scale goes, but I have to admit the writing is lacking for me in comparison. I still find it entertaining though, and I am only 5 episodes in, so I’m willing to give it time.

I have a bit of a to-do list going, and I think if I write them down I’ll be less likely to forget. In the next little while, I would really like to:

  • Visit MOCCA (I mean, it’s right up the street and free so I really should)
  • Go check out the Basquiat exhibit at AGO
  • Get a job…maybe that goes without saying
  • Secure my ticket & camping for Rockfest
  • Book campsites for this summer
Leave a Reply

