Back to the World

I’m going to attempt to do this on a regular basis, but let’s just see how it goes. After a month-long holiday from school, I’ve just completed my first week back.

My vacation was pretty great. It started with a cold, but I was just so happy to be stress-free that I didn’t even care. I could actually take the time to rest up and catch up on sleep for the first time in a while. It’s a good feeling to be busy and productive, but feeling overworked is not a state I enjoy.

After the wedding, (see previous post) My mom left for Africa, and my boyfriend took her place in my house for a week long-stay-cation that we were both more than ready for. It had felt like such a long time that we were able to spend time together without one of us having to rush out for school or work the next day, not to see each other for another week.  So we spent the week cooking together, watching ALL the Harry Potter films, (our holiday tradition) and just enjoying our time together, really. We also chose that particular week, because our ten year anniversary happened to occur then. Although we’re definitely homebodies and thus loved the lounging around, we decided to take it up a notch for our anniversary and we went to Niagara Falls, and stayed in the fanciest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in, that’s for sure. We had an awesome receptionist who gave us a free upgrade: Top floor, view of both falls, jacuzzi tub, and several sinks. You know it’s fancy when you have lots of sinks. It was a really fun night, and I was also looking forward to going to the butterfly conservatory. Unfortunately they were closed for maintenance. Next time I suppose.

Because of aforementioned awesome vacation, I’ve had a tough time getting back into the swing of things. It’s always weird having a suddenly busy schedule after having nothing on the metaphorical menu. The first week back was pretty good though. New classes, and new opportunities to learn and improve. I start my TESOL practicum soon, and I must admit that I’m nervous about it, but I’m also excited. We were asked to line up from imaginary 1 to imaginary 10 depending on how comfortable/ready we felt. I put myself at about 5.5. I feel confident in my ability to lead a class and speak in front of a class, and I’m excited to learn more, but I’m worried that I won’t be able to adequately explain concepts, especially grammar rules and answer questions about adverbials and modals and determiners and what have you. But I guess I’ll figure that out. For now I’ll choose to be optimistic, and let my passion and enthusiasm guide me.

till next time~

Leave a Reply

