People Say, “It’s Not the Sexuality; It’s the Nudity”

It’s June and pride month, which means several events in the city celebrating LGBTQ love and identities, culminating in the parade(s) at the end of the month. The Toronto Pride Parade is a ridiculously high spirited, fun event to attend and I highly recommend going at least once if you’ve never gone. With the recent atrocity in Orlando, there’s probably no better time to express pride in one’s LGBTQ status, or show support as an ally. News about Pride events are currently bountiful not only because it’s June but also because we’re now living in a post-Orlando Shooting world, so naturally I’ve been reading a lot of it.

Today I read an article from Vice titled “Even Post Orlando, Some Canadian Politicians Still Refuse to Attend Pride Parades”. My personal opinion on the issue is this: No one should feel obligated to attend any event in the city. However, if you are a politician you absolutely have an obligation to attend one of the city’s biggest events of the year. I’d even say second biggest only to TIFF.

Anyhoo, the real point of me writing this out is the overwhelming presence in the facebook comment section of essentially the same message seen over and over again in different incarnations. This message is essentially, “I’m pro-LGBTQ, but the Pride parade is/has become more about nudity and sex than about pride and acceptance for differing sexualities and equal rights”. I think this opinion is interesting, and I wouldn’t say it’s entirely wrong or unfounded. And to that I say …”and?”

The first syllable in sexuality is sex, so one can safely assume that an event that exists to celebrate sexualities would be sex positive. And since I identify as sex positive, I don’t find anything wrong with nudity or the nuanced (or not)  performance of gender and sexuality. I also saw some comments saying that the nudity and display of sexuality present at the pride parade are inappropriate for kids to see. and to this I will (perhaps controversially) say again…”and?”   

I really don’t understand the need to protect kids from nudity and sex. we’re all animals, and it’s a thing we do. It doesn’t have to be a traumatising thing if it’s not demonized. There are and have been many cultures where children grow up knowing about sex. I don’t know what people think their kids will do if they see some naked people. Probably nothing. Maybe laugh. Anyway, my point is apparently that far too many people are just way too sexually repressed.            

Leave a Reply

